Painting With Light

When I took my family outside near dusk on Saturday night, I had no plan for how I was going to execute my light painting assignment. I had Jerry and Maggie play with matches for a while (Mom of the Year!). I asked my husband, Gerald, if we had fireworks. I had Maggie catch fireflies. But nothing  was really working and it was all pretty lame.

Lab 08Then I happened to pop Jerry with my flash twice while the shutter was open for a long exposure and suddenly I had my vision. What started as a weird, creepy head thing turned in to a highly choreographed 30-second exposure starring the whole family (less the cat).

Lab 08

Lab 08

Lab 08

Lab 08

Lab 08

Lab 08

Lab 08As you can see, there was a lot of trial and error with this set-up, and we worked on it over two nights. None of them are exactly right technically, but for me, as a mom and wife, they are perfect. I am going to print a few of them big because I love them so much. The kids loved it so much they want to do it erryday.

Here’s the one I handed in for the assignment.

Lab 08You can click on any one of these to see it bigger.

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Painting With Light

  1. reminds me of an album cover…very cool.

Leave a Reply

