September 10, 2013 | Photo of the Day

PowersM_feature lab POD-1

Today I had an in-class assignment to shoot a feature photo on a tight deadline. As I do most days, I found myself driving circles with a vague idea of where I was headed. When I saw there were people working on buses at the school district’s bus lot I pulled in and parked my car. The two men I met were the perfect subjects – they completely ignored me after our initial conversation.

I should have worked color and pattern more. I should have used the cool shadows to my advantage. I should have had two camera bodies for a long lens/short lens combo. I should have stayed longer and been more patient. Most photo editors hate lens flare. Et cetera.

It was a good critique from my teacher, so I’ll sum it up: “You didn’t do anything right.”

I’m okay with that. I’m working hard and learning a lot. And sometimes even, I do things right. To wit, I earned photo of the week for my soccer assignment.

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “September 10, 2013 | Photo of the Day

  1. Susan says:

    Those soccer photos were GREAT!
    And don’t be hard on yourself – we can’t all be perfect all the time!

Leave a Reply

