October 13, 2013 | Infrared

20131013_infrared_We are fortunate to have an awesome camera at school: the Fuji FinePix IS Pro. I don’t know much about how to use the camera, but I played with it today. On the left is an image taken with no filter on the camera, in the center I used an infrared filter and on the right I used a visible light filter, meaning it looks “normal” to human eyes. The camera was on a tripod and the focus was locked down, which is how I got each frame exactly the same. Between shots (and there were many more frames than the three shown above) I swapped the filters and took notes.

I did a small amount of post processing to all three images, but I was just fooling around. There’s more research and experimentation to do before I really get a handle on how I want to use this camera.

One possibility is cat pictures among the green foliage of my backyard. Or something.

20131013_infrared cat_4598

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “October 13, 2013 | Infrared

  1. lindseyawarren says:

    This is so cool! I didn’t know we had infrared cameras at school. Just Biocoms get that lesson I guess?

Leave a Reply

