March 12, 2014 | Before the Sun

20140312_ porch

During the nearly 2 years I’ve spent in photography school, the biggest change in my habits has been to take far fewer pictures. There is much less guessing, which leads to less clicking — except when I’m photographing this girl. She talks continuously, so I snap away, hoping to catch her during a breath. I’ll ask her to pose a certain way, look at something specific, smile…but because she’s talking the whole time it doesn’t even matter. If I post a picture of Maggie, you can count on about 20 outtakes that surround that one moment – literally just the length of the shutter – where she allowed me to get a picture.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

